Starting May 10, 2011, 16-year-old Utahans will be allowed to donate blood if they have the written consent of their parents/guardians.
The law was changed in Utah during the 2011 legislative session. Prior to the passage of the Human Blood Procurement and Use Act (House Bill 64) in February, 18-year-olds and 17-year-olds with parental consent could donate blood, but 16-year-olds could not.
Accepting blood donations from 16-year-olds has proven to be an acceptable practice, and 41 states have now adopted 16 as the minimum donation age. Lowering the donation age in Utah will allow for an estimated 10 to 20 percent increase in blood donations among high school age donors.
16-year-old blood donors will need to bring a signed parental/guardian consent form when they donate blood. Find the form on our “Donor Qualifications” page. Donors will also need to meet the minimum weight and height requirements required for donors age 22 and under. Please check the chart on parental permission form to see if you meet the height and weight requirements to donate blood.